Tuna Salad Love

Ok…I will admit it. I don’t feel like cooking. I don’t feel like going grocery shopping. I don’t feel like showing out my cooking skills. Perhaps I have been stunted from that CSA+Pantry=YUM! cooking experience at my friend’s house. It’s just a moment in time I work through periodically.

For dinner I have been sustaining on chicken and broccoli with white sauce and brown rice…now moved into chicken with mixed vegetables…but that is dinner. What to do for lunch? Thank goodness I keep a small arsenal in my pantry of items of non-perishable items to forage a quick meal – pastas, canned goods, crackers. I mix that with (cross my fingers) whatever condiments, fresh(ish) items I have in the fridge.

Today (and yesterday for that matter) I was saved by tuna in the can. Good ol’ Chicken of the Sea in water. When it’s on sale I buy it so I have it for times like this. I like the albacore most, but not mad at anything else.

From the fridge I found half a red onion (still good), anchovy paste (just for salt + flavor), dijon mustard (for spice + vinegar) and of course some real mayo (NOT Miracle Whip, Mom!). There were also some capers and olives in the bowels of the second shelf, but didn’t feel like sorting that out. If I had it I would have added some diced celery.

So…
.25 C small diced onion (and celery if you have it)
1.5 T mayo (not too much for me)
.5 t anchovy paste (from a tube, I eyeball it)
1 t dijon mustard
.5 t vinegar (for the tang factor)
fresh black pepper and sea salt to taste
1 can tuna in water, drained

I start with making the dressing by taking all of the ingredients, less the tuna, mixing them in a small bowl and letting it sit for a couple of minutes. Add the drained tuna and combine all with a fork. Taste and re-season with salt and pepper if needed.

I eat it with Wasa multi-grain crackers (also from the pantry) straight from the bowl. Why sully a good plate, right? Hunger pangs gone and I can get on with it.

Listen, sometimes food is just that – food! It serves to nourish the body and get you to your next meal. It doesn’t have to be gourmet, fancy or “the BEST meal I ever ate!”

So what are your go-to pantry foods and meals?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jason says:

    Hey SchopGirl! I foraged last night in the sea as well. It was the Notorious B.I.G. dinner – sardines, with crackers, dijon mustard and onions. Thanks for the inspiration!

    1. SCHOP! Girl says:

      Thanks for reading Jason. I love a good foraged meal and sardines, like tuna, are always a good call. Do you keep any citrus in the house like lemon? If so next time make a salad with thinly sliced onions, lemon juice, olive oil, sea salt and black pepper plus a any fresh herbs you might have (parsley, thyme, basil come to mind) would be a great base to lay those briny fishies on. Let me know how it turns out.

  2. Jason says:

    Hey SchopGirl! So I thought I would leave you with a forage dessert. The other night I had a very sudden and swift calling for something sweet, but it was late and I didn’t want to go back out. Plus, a Snickers bar (my fav) or a Kit Kat (a recent favorite) was simply not going to cut it. PLUS….I wanted something with a little salty flavor. So…I cut up a banana into thin slices, put a healthy dollop of nutella on top and then…sprinkled a little kosher salt on top. Yumm!! The sweet of the nutella and bananas was delicious against the salt. And…it was cheap and I didn’t have to go outside. Hurrah!!

    1. SCHOP! Girl says:

      Wow! That is a great sweet forage Jason! I have a deep love for anything banana and chocolate and with a touch of salt too? Yum. For a delicate salt taste on sweets in the future add some sea salt to your pantry. Its light flakey texture gives great mouth feel while bringing out the flavor of your food. While I am not a big hazelnut fan I also like the idea of Nutella as a great foraging ingredient. I keep some good dark chocolate in the fridge to nibble on if not melt it with a little cream for a personal fondue. I can’t wait to hear more…

  3. Margaret Dozier says:

    My go-to pantry foods & meals are soups in a carton (brocoli,squash,corn) and cheese & crackers from the health food store and datenut bread from the supermarket during fall & winter.
    I love avocado to mashed with a fork and put on pita chips as a late night snack or dinner in front of the tv.

    1. SCHOP! Girl says:

      You are a foodie after my own heart Margaret. Right now I am working through a loaf of banana bread I bought in Martha’s Vineyard and froze. I slice off a bit, toast it and slather in butter. Is that really so wrong?! Now is the time when I start making soups like my life depends on it…which it kinda does and I freeze the extra servings for those “forage” moments. And my love of the Hass avocado could become problematic…at least you put it on a cracker. I use the half as a bowl (for a crab salad when I can afford it), a sprinkle of flakey Maldon’s sea salt and spoon? Fuhgeddabouddit!

Leave a Reply

